• Leadership

    Members of the Executive Board

    It's the movers and shakers who make the world turn. Those who take the liberty to act. To design new technologies to remove obstacles.

Karsten Renz

Chief Executive Officer

Karsten Renz, co-founder and CEO of OPTIMAL SYSTEMS, is responsible for strategic company management. He primarily focuses on achieving solid financial growth, continuously optimizing cutting-edge, innovative business processes, and expanding strategic networks. Renz studied computer science with a focus on business at Technische Universität (TU) Berlin from 1987 to 1991. During that time, he took part in projects at WIB Weltrauminstitut Berlin GmbH to compile image databases for the aviation and aerospace industry. Together with his classmate Sven Sauer, he founded OPTIMAL SYSTEMS GmbH as a spin-off of WIB in 1991.

During the company’s early years, Renz was responsible for sales, marketing, and administration, while Sauer oversaw the development of new technologies and product management.

  • My favorite enaio® function:
    Subscribing to changes or adding information on selected projects. That ensures I’m automatically informed when something relevant happens with an acquisition or an ongoing project.
  • My favorite tool:
    Apart from enaio®, I can’t imagine working without Excel.

Gregor Wolf

Chief Operations Officer

After completing his studies in computer science at the TU Berlin, Wolf stayed on at the university for several years as a researcher and authored the PEtS software development method. He served the German state of North Rhine-Westphalia, unions, and research institutes as a consultant on software development methods. In 1991, Wolf switched to the private sector, where he moved from Berlin-based Condat AG to positions such as Managing Director of the Web CMS start-up The BtoB Company. Prior to joining OPTIMAL SYSTEMS, he spent eight years as a Management Board member and CTO of Klopotek AG and as Managing Director of Klopotek UK. During this time, he also actively served on advisory boards and consortia.

Wolf has been part of OPTIMAL SYSTEMS since 2013, and started by revamping product management. He has served as COO for all operational business units since 2015.

  • My favorite enaio® function:
    The full-text search. I can’t stand having to click through folder after folder in Windows.
  • My favorite tool:
    My ears and my mouth. I believe in the concept of servant leadership, which calls for listening and persuasion.

Björn Grabe

Director Professional Services

Björn Grabe is responsible for the Professional Services business unit. This provides the full spectrum of technical customer and partner support, from consulting and implementation, to training and technical support, through to operating customer systems. After completing his studies in computer sciences for the production industry, Grabe began working as a consultant for DMS projects at OPTIMAL SYSTEMS in 1995. In 1998, he assumed leadership of the Consulting and Support team, and built it up into the current Professional Services division. The certified engineer sees the new field of cloud services as an important challenge, and works together with his colleagues on corresponding services.

  • My favorite enaio® function:
    The enaio® app for iOS. Combined with the document references sent via e-mail and Office apps, I can always find and process the information necessary for my job.
  • My favorite tool:
    My iPad is coming to replace the computer at my workstation. Thanks to the large number of business apps, I can now do my job from anywhere in the world.

Dr. Olaf Holst

Chief Technology Evangelist

Dr. Olaf Holst became Chief Technology Evangelist in 2018. Previously, he was responsible for the expansion of the international sales network and business development in the industrial and service sectors. Prior to that, Holst served as Sales Director at OPTIMAL SYSTEMS. He holds a PhD in philosophy as well as a graduate degree in engineering. Along with that, he has in-depth expertise in sales, IT, and company organization. He served as Senior Manager Partner Sales at AuthentiDate International AG and Head Partner Manager at Ceyoniq AG. Prior to that, Holst was Head of Sales at FurniNet Service GmbH. His work at several companies under the aegis of Gildemeister AG allowed him to gain many years of experience in mechanical and plant engineering.

  • My favorite enaio® function:
    The mobile application, since I can now, finally, work entirely without paper. That helps me maintain an overview of all situations and always have all the information and documents I need at hand.
  • My favorite tool:
    My tablet, since I can finally avoid writing things down on paper – when I did that, I couldn’t read my notes afterwards anyway, since my handwriting is awful.

Sven Kaiser

Director Marketing & Brand Strategy

Sven Kaiser is head of the Marketing & Brand Strategy business unit. He oversees the planning and implementation of marketing activities that supports sales. After completing specialized training in hotel management and marketing communication, as well as working as a consultant in B2B full-service advertising agencies in Dortmund and Berlin, he studied at imk Berlin as well as Miami Ad School (in cooperation with Florida International University), earning a master’s degree in Communication and Advertising. Kaiser joined OPTIMAL SYSTEMS in late 1999.

  • My favorite enaio® function:
    Outlook integration, since it only takes a single click to ensure that each incoming or outgoing e-mail is stored in the right project folder, and that the entire project team can see what information I’ve sent. That way, everyone is kept fully informed and ready to work at all times.

  • My favorite tool:
    A blank piece of paper, since good campaigns still start there.

Andreas Kalz

Director Sales & Partner Management

Andreas Kalz has been serving as Director Sales & Partner Management since 2016. In this capacity, he is responsible for marketing and business development. He was able to secure his first sales success starting in 1995, in the area of communications technology at Siemens AG. After starting out at the OPTIMAL SYSTEMS Group as an Account Manager in 2005, Kalz switched to the German Bundesdruckerei (Federal Printing Office) three years later. There, he was in charge of sales for the Trusted Solutions segment. After returning in 2013, Kalz became Sales Director, a position he holds to this day. He holds an advanced degree in communications engineering.

  • My favorite enaio® function:
    One of my favorite functions in enaio is the flat search feature without fixed structures. I prefer that over using the intelligent full-text search function and/or applying filters for hit lists. It’s easy and incredibly efficient.

  • My favorite tool:
    I can no longer imagine a world without smartphones. However, it’s important to strike a healthy balance between being available and focusing on your work. Otherwise, you become a slave to your phone.

Andreas Karger

Director Finance & Administration

Andreas Karger is responsible for centralized Group tasks in the area of finance and administration. His area of responsibility includes leading the back office, accounting, HR planning, and HR development. After completing training to become a retail salesman, he earned a degree in business administration. He held a number of roles at several companies in a comparable position before coming to OPTIMAL SYSTEMS in late 2007, where he now serves as a member of management.

  • My favorite enaio® function:
    Office integration for Word and Excel; the features this entails make it much easier for me to use each of the programs in my day-to-day work.

  • My favorite tool:
    My cash card from my favorite bank; it’s such a good feeling to be able to rely on timely payments for our customers at all times, which also lets us have a good handle on expenses at all times.

Dirk Liebich

Chief Business Development Officer enaio® redline

Dirk Liebich has more than 20 years of experience when it comes to digital transformation. In recent years he supported a multitude of start-up enterprises in San Francisco, New York, Berlin and Asia. He also works as speaker, author and blogger. His topics revolve around data mining, machine learning and artificial intelligence.

In 2018, this impressive track record led him to his new role as Chief Business Development Officer enaio® redline. It is his mission to establish the technological advantage of enaio® redline in new, international markets.

  • My favorite enaio® function:
    The one that I create for myself. Because enaio® redline enables me to implement whatever function I need with only a few lines of javascript.

  • My favorite tool:
    A blank sheet of paper. Because that’s where my ideas start from. I think and communicate in images.

Dr. Nikola Milanovic

Director Product Development

Dr. Nikola Milanovic has been responsible for product development at OPTIMAL SYSTEMS since 2014. He oversees software development for the enaio® product lines, as well as quality assurance, maintenance, and agile development processes. Previously, Milanovic served as CEO of Model Labs GmbH as well as Senior Consultant and Team Leader at GAI NetConsult GmbH. In 2001, Milanovic completed his studies in electrical engineering and computer science at the University of Belgrade. In 2005, he earned his doctorate from the Department of Computer Science at Humboldt University in Berlin. In 2010, he acquired habilitation and qualified as Professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science department at the TU Berlin, where he also worked as a research assistant.

  • My favorite enaio® function:
    Expandability; the comprehensive REST API allows me to upgrade the basic product functionality to include smart Web plug-ins and in-house microservices, and thereby implement content-based software projects with state-of-the-art technologies, all at a fraction of the cost.

  • My favorite tool:
    Coffee, since ‘algorithms + data structures + coffee = programs.’

Dr. Silke Widera

Chief Product Owner

Since joining the company in 2017, Dr. Widera has held the post of CPO, where she is in charge of product management. Prior to this, she served as International Product Manager at Roche Diagnostics International in the Workflow and IT division, where she was responsible for laboratory information systems. She holds a PhD in chemistry with a focus on quantum chemistry, and studied at the TU Berlin and the University of Auckland. After earning her doctorate, she spent several years as a researcher at institutions such as the University of Bologna and the Biomaterial Research Institute at the Geesthacht Helmholtz Center in Teltow, Germany.

  • My favorite enaio® function:
    The full-text search. I like being able to quickly and easily search for and find information.

  • My favorite tool:
    My cell phone. It provides all the data, documents, and tickets that I require in a single, small space that I can also switch off sometimes.

• Leadership

    Die Mitglieder der Geschäftsleitung

    Die Welt dreht sich durch die Macher. Durch diejenigen, die sich die Freiheit nehmen, zu handeln. Die neue Technologien gestalten, um Hindernisse aus dem Weg zu räumen.

Karsten Renz

Chief Executive Officer

Als Mitgründer und geschäftsführender Gesellschafter von OPTIMAL SYSTEMS ist Karsten Renz für die strategische Unternehmensführung verantwortlich. Er konzentriert sich vor allem auf ein wirtschaftlich solides Wachstum, die stetige Optimierung modern-innovativer Geschäftsprozesse sowie den Ausbau strategischer Netzwerke. Von 1987 bis 1991 absolvierte Karsten Renz ein Informatikstudium mit Schwerpunkt Wirtschaft an der Technischen Universität Berlin. Parallel dazu war er an Projekten der WIB Weltrauminstitut Berlin GmbH beteiligt, die sich mit der Realisierung von Bilddatenbanken für die Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie befassten. Zusammen mit seinem Studienkollegen Sven Sauer gründete er 1991 als Spin-off aus der WIB die OPTIMAL SYSTEMS GmbH.

In den ersten Jahren war Karsten Renz für die Bereiche Vertrieb, Marketing und Administration zuständig, während Sven Sauer die Entwicklung neuer Technologien und das Produktmanagement verantwortete.

  • Meine enaio®-Lieblingsfunktion:
    Das Abonnieren von Änderungen resp. Ergänzungen von Informationen auf selektierten Projekten. Damit werde ich automatisch informiert, wenn etwas Relevantes in einer Akquisition oder einem laufenden Projekt passiert.
  • Mein Lieblings-Arbeitsmittel:
    Neben enaio® kann ich mir die Arbeit ohne Excel nicht vorstellen.

Gregor Wolf

Chief Operations Officer

Nach seinem Abschluss als Dipl.-Informatiker an der TU Berlin blieb er der Universität zunächst mehrere Jahre als Forscher erhalten und zeichnete als Autor der Softwareentwicklungsmethode PEtS mitverantwortlich. Als Berater für Softwareentwicklungsmethoden arbeitete er für das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen, Gewerkschaften und Forschungseinrichtungen. 1991 wechselte Gregor Wolf in die Industrie, wo es ihn über die Berliner Condat u.a. zum Web-CMS-Startup B2B Company als Managing Director führte. Vor seiner Zeit bei OPTIMAL SYSTEMS war er dann acht Jahre lang Vorstand und CTO der Klopotek AG, Managing Director der Klopotek UK und in Beiräten und Konsortien aktiv. 

Bei OPTIMAL SYSTEMS ist Gregor Wolf seit 2013, baute dort erst das Produktmanagement neu auf und ist seit 2015 als COO für alle operativen Geschäftsbereiche zuständig.

  • Meine enaio®-Lieblingsfunktion:
    Volltextsuche. Ich kann schon in Windows das Geklicke durch Ordner über Ordnern nicht leiden.
  • Mein Lieblings-Arbeitsmittel:
    Meine Ohren und mein Mund. Ich glaube an Servant Leadership, da ist Zuhören und Überzeugen gefragt.

Björn Grabe

Director Professional Services

Björn Grabe verantwortet den Geschäftsbereich Professional Services. Dieser stellt die ganze Bandbreite der technischen Kunden- und Partnerbetreuung zur Verfügung, von der Beratung und Implementierung über das Training, den technischen Support bis zum Betrieb von Kundensystemen. Nach dem Studium der Produktionsinformatik begann Björn Grabe 1995 als Consultant für DMS-Projekte bei OPTIMAL SYSTEMS zu arbeiten. 1998 übernahm er die Leitung der Teams Consulting und Support und baute es zum heutigen Bereich Professional Services aus. Der Dipl.-Ing. sieht das neue Geschäftsfeld der Cloud-Services als wichtige Herausforderung und arbeitet mit seinen Kollegen an entsprechenden Angeboten.

  • Meine enaio®-Lieblingsfunktion:
    Die enaio®-App für iOS. In Verbindung mit per Mail versandten Dokumentenverweisen und Office-Apps bin ich jederzeit in der Lage, die für meinen Job notwendigen Informationen zu finden und zu bearbeiten.
  • Mein Lieblings-Arbeitsmittel:
    Das iPad ersetzt mir inzwischen den Arbeitsplatzrechner. Aufgrund der Vielzahl von Business-Apps kann ich meinen Job heutzutage von jedem Platz auf der Welt machen.

Dr. Olaf Holst

Chief Technology Evangelist

Dr. Olaf Holst ist seit 2018 Chief Technology Evangelist. Davor war er für den Ausbau des internationalen Vertriebsnetzes und die Geschäftsentwicklung im Industrie- und Dienstleistungsbereich zuständig. Zuvor arbeitete Holst als Vertriebsleiter bei OPTIMAL SYSTEMS. Der promovierte Philosoph und Dipl.-Ing. verfügt über fundierte Kenntnisse in Vertrieb, IT und Unternehmensorganisation. Er war Senior Manager Partner Sales bei der AuthentiDate International AG und Leitender Partnermanager bei der Ceyoniq AG. Davor leitete Holst den Vertrieb der FurniNet Service GmbH. Durch Tätigkeiten bei mehreren Unternehmen der Gildemeister AG hat er langjährige Erfahrung im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau.

  • Meine enaio®-Lieblingsfunktion:
    Die mobile Anwendung, da ich nun endlich vollständig papierlos arbeiten kann. Das hilft mir in jeder Situation den Überblick zu behalten und alle notwendigen Informationen und Dokument immer parat zu haben.
  • Mein Lieblings-Arbeitsmittel:
    Mein Tablet, da ich endlich vermeiden kann, Dinge auf Papier zu notieren, die ich durch meine grausige Handschrift hinterher sowieso nicht mehr lesen kann.

Sven Kaiser

Geschäftsbereichsleiter Marketing & Markenstrategie

Sven Kaiser leitet den Geschäftsbereich Marketing und Markenstrategie. Er verantwortet Konzeption und Realisierung des vertriebsunterstützenden Marketings. Nach IHK-Ausbildungen zum Hotelfachmann sowie zum Fachkaufmann für Marketingkommunikation und anschließenden Tätigkeiten als Berater in B2B-Full-Service-Werbeagenturen in Dortmund und Berlin absolvierte er ein Studium am IMK in Berlin sowie an der Miami AdSchool in Kooperation mit der Florida International University (FIU) mit Abschluss als Master of Communication & Advertising. Sven Kaiser kam Ende 1999 zu OPTIMAL SYSTEMS.

  • Meine enaio®-Lieblingsfunktion:
    Die Outlook-Integration, denn mit nur einem Klick bin ich sicher, dass jede ein- oder ausgehende E-Mail genau beim richtigen Projekt abgelegt ist und das gesamte Projektteam sieht, was ich kommuniziert habe. So sind alle bestens informiert und jederzeit arbeitsfähig.
  • Mein Lieblings-Arbeitsmittel:
    Das weiße Blatt Papier, denn gute Kampagnen fangen auch heute immer noch darauf an.

Andreas Kalz

Geschäftsbereichsleiter Vertrieb Deutschland

Andreas Kalz ist seit 2016 als Geschäftsbereichsleiter Vertrieb Deutschland für die Vermarktung und Geschäftsentwicklung verantwortlich. Nachdem er 2005 zunächst als Vertriebsbeauftragter für die Unternehmensgruppe tätig war, wechselte Kalz drei Jahre später zur Bundesdruckerei. Hier übernahm er für die Sparte Trusted Solutions die Vertriebsleitung. Nach seiner Rückkehr 2013 übernahm Kalz die Position der Vertriebsleitung, für die er bis heute tätig ist.
Andreas Kalz ist Dipl. Ingenieur der Nachrichtentechnik. Seine ersten Vertriebserfolge konnte er ab 1995 im Bereich der Kommunikationstechnik der Siemens AG erlangen, von wo aus er 2013 in die Softwarebranche wechselte.

  • Meine enaio®-Lieblingsfunktion:
    Eine meiner Lieblingsfunktionen in enaio® ist das flache Suchen ohne feste Strukturen. Dies über die Nutzung der intelligenten Volltextsuche und/oder die Eingrenzung von Trefferlisten. Ist einfach und äußerst effizient.
  • Mein Lieblings-Arbeitsmittel:
    Eine Welt ohne Smartphone kann ich mir nicht mehr vorstellen. Es ist aber wichtig, die Balance zu finden zwischen Erreichbarkeit und konzentriertem Arbeiten. Sonst wird man zum digitalen Sklaven.

Andreas Karger

Geschäftsbereichsleiter Finanzen & Administration

Andreas Karger ist für die zentralen Aufgaben der Unternehmensgruppe im Bereich Finanzen & Administration verantwortlich. In seinen Verantwortungsbereich gehören die Führung des Backoffice, des Rechnungswesens sowie die Personalplanung und Personalentwicklung. Nach einer IHK Ausbildung zum Einzelhandelskaufmann absolvierte er ein Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre. Nach diversen Tätigkeiten bei verschiedenen Unternehmen in vergleichbarer Position, kam Andreas Karger Ende 2007 zu OPTIMAL SYSTEMS und ist heute Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung.

  • Meine enaio®-Lieblingsfunktion:
    Die Office-Integration für Word und Excel und die darin angebotenen Funktionen erleichtern das Handling dieser beiden Softwareprogramme in entscheidendem Maße für meine tägliche Arbeit.
  • Mein Lieblings-Arbeitsmittel:
    Meine scheckkartengroße Bankkarte meiner Lieblingsbank, denn es ist ein gutes Gefühl, sich jederzeit auf zuverlässige Einzahlungen unserer Kunden verlassen zu können und auch die Ausgaben damit jederzeit im Griff zu haben.

Dr. Nikola Milanovic

Geschäftsbereichsleiter Produktentwicklung

Dr.-Ing. Nikola Milanovic verantwortet seit 2014 die Produktentwicklung bei OPTIMAL SYSTEMS. Er leitet federführend die Softwareentwicklung der enaio® Produktlinien, sowie die Qualitätssicherung, Wartung und sorgt für agile Entwicklungsprozesse. Zuvor war Milanovic CEO der Model Labels GmbH und Senior Consultant und Teamleiter bei GAI NetConsult GmbH. 2001 absolvierte Milanovic sein Studium der Elektrotechnik und Informatik an der Universität Belgrad, promovierte 2005 am Institut für Informatik der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin und habilitierte 2010 an der Fakultät Elektrotechnik und Informatik der Technischen Universität Berlin, wo er sich auch als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter engagierte.

  • Meine enaio®-Lieblingsfunktion:
    Erweiterbarkeit — durch umfassendes REST API kann ich mit smarten Web-Plugins und eigenen Microservices die Grundfunktionalität des Produkts erweitern und damit komplexe content-basierte Softwareprojekte mit einem Bruchteil der Kosten und state-of-the-art Technologien umsetzen.
  • Mein Lieblings-Arbeitsmittel:
    Kaffee, denn „Algorithms + Data Structures + Coffee = Programs“

Dr. Silke Widera

Chief Product Owner

Seit 2017 im Unternehmen, verantwortet Frau Dr. Widera als CPO das Produktmanagement. Zuvor war sie als International Productmanager bei Roche Diagnostics International im Bereich Workflow und IT zuständig für Laborinformationssysteme. Die promovierte Chemikerin mit Fokus auf der Quantenchemie, studierte an der TU-Berlin und der University of Auckland und war nach ihrer Promotion noch einige Jahre in der Forschung tätig, unter anderem an der Universita di Bologna und dem Institut für Biomaterialforschung des Helmholtz-Zentrums Geesthacht in Teltow.

  • Meine enaio®-Lieblingsfunktion:
    Die Volltextsuche. Schnell und einfach suchen und finden.
  • Mein Lieblings-Arbeitsmittel:
    Mein Mobiltelefon. Alle Daten, Dokumente, Tickets, die ich benötige an einem, kleinen Ort, den man auch mal abschalten kann.